Model guide · 5 picks
Dolphin Escape: Who It Suits and When to Pick a Nautilus
The Escape is Dolphin's lightweight corded robot for pools up to 33 ft. Here is what its listing states and leaves out, whether it suits an inground pool, how it compares with the Nautilus models, and which filters fit.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no cost to you. How we make money.
The Dolphin Escape is the model people search for by name, usually after a pool store or a friend mentions it. It is a corded robot with a big top-loading filter, listed for pools up to 33 ft, and it is easy to confuse with the Nautilus models that sit next to it in the Dolphin range. The listings use similar words for different robots, and the details that matter, such as whether a robot climbs walls, are often the ones left out.
This page is the model guide. It sets the Escape beside four neighbouring Dolphins, answers the inground question straight, and says when a Nautilus is the better pick. For a short verdict on the whole range, see our Dolphin pool cleaner reviews. For other makers, start with the best robotic pool cleaners.
The Picks at a Glance
Ranked for most homes. Tap a name for the full verdict.
-
Best for a lightweight robot on a pool up to 33 ft
Dual motors, HyperGrip tracks and a big top-loading filter, listed for pools up to 33 ft.
Premium
Check price -
Best for an above-ground pool floor
Above-ground pools up to 33 ft, floor only, with a 1.5 hour cycle.
Mid-range
Check price -
Check priceBest for walls on a pool up to 33 ft
Wall climbing, an active brush and a 1 year warranty.
-
Best for an inground pool with walls
Inground pools up to 33 ft with wall climbing and an active brush.
Premium
Check price -
Best for a longer pool
Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus with Caddy
Listed for all pools up to 50 ft, with a caddy and cover.
Premium
Check price -
Best cordless budget alternative for an above-ground pool
No cable, 90 minutes of battery, listed for above-ground pools.
Budget
Check price -
Best finer basket for the Escape
Dolphin Ultra-Fine Filter Basket
A genuine ultra-fine basket whose list names the Escape.
Budget
Check price -
Best coarser basket for the Escape
The fine basket for debris such as leaves, with the Escape on the list.
Budget
Check price
How We Choose
We do not run a test lab, and we will not pretend to. Everything here comes from reading the maker's own listing for each robot and comparing them on the same points. Where a listing is silent we write "not stated" instead of guessing, and where two listings disagree we tell you what each one says.
-
Pool size
The longest pool each listing says the robot suits.
-
Pool type
Whether the listing says above-ground, inground or both.
-
Brushes and climbing
The scrubbing brush and wall climbing the listing states, and what it rules out.
-
Filtration
The filter style and the parts that fit.
-
Navigation
Whether the listing describes scanning or smart routing.
-
Warranty
Only what the listing states.
-
Price tier
We never print a price: it changes daily.
-
Current model
Every robot here is sold today.
Checked on November 7, 2026. No brand paid to be on this page or saw it before publication. When you buy through our links we may earn a commission from Amazon; it never changes the order.
Dolphin Escape vs Other Dolphins
The table shows only what each listing states. Three points are worth reading before the details. The Escape listing never mentions wall climbing. The Nautilus AG listing says outright that it does not clean walls or the waterline. And the weight the Escape listing gives in its text, 14 lb, is lower than the shipping weight in its product details, so treat weights as listing figures.
| Robot | Dolphin Escape Main model | Nautilus AG | Nautilus CC | Advantage | Nautilus CC Plus with Caddy Longest pools |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Robot | | | | | |
| Pool type | Above ground and inground | Above ground | Above ground and inground | Inground | All pools, per listing |
| Pool size | Up to 33 ft | Up to 33 ft | Up to 33 ft | Up to 33 ft | Up to 50 ft |
| Filter | Oversized top-loading debris cartridge | Top-load filter basket | Top-load filter basket | Top-load filter basket | Top-load filter basket |
| Brush | ✅ HyperBrush | ✅ Active scrubbing brush | ✅ Active scrubbing brush | ✅ Active scrubbing brush | Not stated |
| Walls | Not stated | ❌ Does not clean walls or waterline | ✅ Wall climbing | ✅ Wall climbing | ✅ Wall climbing |
| Navigation | ✅ SmartNav 2.0 scanning | ✅ Smart Navigation scanning | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Cycle | Not stated | 1.5 hours, per listing | 2 hours, per listing | 2 hours, per listing | 2 hours, per listing |
| Warranty | Two year quality assurance | Not stated | 1 year warranty | Not stated | Not stated |
| Buy | Check price on Amazon | Check price on Amazon | Check price on Amazon | Check price on Amazon | Check price on Amazon |
Main model
Dolphin Escape
Show specifications
- Pool type
- Above ground and inground
- Pool size
- Up to 33 ft
- Filter
- Oversized top-loading debris cartridge
- Brush
- ✅ HyperBrush
- Walls
- Not stated
- Navigation
- ✅ SmartNav 2.0 scanning
- Cycle
- Not stated
- Warranty
- Two year quality assurance
Nautilus AG
Show specifications
- Pool type
- Above ground
- Pool size
- Up to 33 ft
- Filter
- Top-load filter basket
- Brush
- ✅ Active scrubbing brush
- Walls
- ❌ Does not clean walls or waterline
- Navigation
- ✅ Smart Navigation scanning
- Cycle
- 1.5 hours, per listing
- Warranty
- Not stated
Nautilus CC
Show specifications
- Pool type
- Above ground and inground
- Pool size
- Up to 33 ft
- Filter
- Top-load filter basket
- Brush
- ✅ Active scrubbing brush
- Walls
- ✅ Wall climbing
- Navigation
- Not stated
- Cycle
- 2 hours, per listing
- Warranty
- 1 year warranty
Advantage
Show specifications
- Pool type
- Inground
- Pool size
- Up to 33 ft
- Filter
- Top-load filter basket
- Brush
- ✅ Active scrubbing brush
- Walls
- ✅ Wall climbing
- Navigation
- Not stated
- Cycle
- 2 hours, per listing
- Warranty
- Not stated
Longest pools
Nautilus CC Plus with Caddy
Show specifications
- Pool type
- All pools, per listing
- Pool size
- Up to 50 ft
- Filter
- Top-load filter basket
- Brush
- Not stated
- Walls
- ✅ Wall climbing
- Navigation
- Not stated
- Cycle
- 2 hours, per listing
- Warranty
- Not stated
The Dolphin Escape and Alternatives, Reviewed
The Escape gets the full review. The four Dolphin neighbours follow with a short review each, and one cordless robot from another maker closes the list for owners who want no cable.
Top pick · Best for a lightweight robot on a pool up to 33 ft
Dolphin Escape
A well-equipped corded robot for a pool up to 33 ft, with scanning navigation and a two year quality assurance. The listing is silent on wall climbing, so check that before you buy for a pool with sides to scrub.
- Premium
- Pool type Above ground and inground
- Pool size Up to 33 ft
- Brush HyperBrush
- Navigation SmartNav 2.0 scanning
- Buy it if
- You have an above-ground or inground pool up to 33 ft, you want a light robot with a large filter and you mostly need the floor cleaned.
- Skip it if
- You need walls, the waterline or steps cleaned and have not confirmed the Escape does that, or your pool is longer than 33 ft.
The listing's title promises dual motors, a HyperBrush, HyperGrip tracks, smart navigation and a massive top-loading filter. The text fills in the detail. The debris cartridge is described as oversized and holding up to 60% more debris, with no bags to deal with. The HyperBrush is said to scrub and vacuum away algae and debris. The HyperGrip continuous tracks are driven by 24 volt DC motors that the maker says filter over 4,000 gallons per hour.
Navigation is the Escape's second selling point. The listing calls it SmartNav 2.0 robotic scanning, with software that picks an efficient route around obstacles. The Nautilus AG makes a similar claim, but the CC, Advantage and CC Plus listings do not describe scanning at all.
The Escape is listed for any shape of pool made of vinyl, fiberglass or gunite, up to 33 ft. The text gives a weight of 14 lb with quick water release, which is useful because you lift a corded robot out of the pool each time you service it. The product details list a higher shipping weight of about 24 lb, so the lower figure is the maker's claim for the robot alone. The warranty is described as a two year quality assurance, the longest period stated among the Dolphins on this page.
What the listing does not state is as important. It does not give a cycle time, and it never mentions wall climbing, the waterline or steps. That does not prove the robot lacks them; it means the listing is silent, and Dolphin's own page is the place to settle it. If your pool has tall vertical sides, the Nautilus CC or Advantage below list wall climbing outright.
What stands out
- Listed for both above-ground and inground pools
- Oversized top-loading cartridge, no bags
- SmartNav 2.0 scanning route planning
- Two year quality assurance stated
- Light at 14 lb per the listing text
Trade-offs
- Wall climbing, waterline and steps not stated
- No cycle time given
- Corded, so you manage the cable
- Rated up to 33 ft only
Best for an above-ground pool floor
Dolphin Nautilus AG
A floor cleaner for above-ground pools, and honest about it: the listing says it does not clean walls or the waterline.
- Mid-range
- Pool type Above ground
- Pool size Up to 33 ft
- Filter Top-load filter basket
- Brush Active scrubbing brush
- Buy it if
- You have an above-ground pool up to 33 ft and only the floor needs cleaning.
- Skip it if
- You want walls or the waterline cleaned, or your pool is inground.
The Nautilus AG listing is the plainest of the group. It states an active scrubbing brush, a top-load filter basket, Smart Navigation that scans the pool and a plug-and-play routine that cleans in 1.5 hours. It is listed for above-ground pools up to 33 ft and says clearly that it does not clean walls or the waterline. The listing weight is about 14.6 lb.
If your pool is above ground and you want a clean floor, it does what it says. If the walls matter to you, it is the wrong robot.
What stands out
- Clear about what it does not clean
- Scanning navigation per the listing
- Shortest cycle stated, 1.5 hours
Trade-offs
- Does not clean walls or waterline
- Above-ground pools only
Best for walls on a pool up to 33 ft
Dolphin Nautilus CC
The Dolphin to read next to the Escape if walls matter. It is listed for above-ground and inground pools up to 33 ft and states wall climbing outright.
- Pool type Above ground and inground
- Pool size Up to 33 ft
- Filter Top-load filter basket
- Brush Active scrubbing brush
- Buy it if
- Your pool is 33 ft or shorter and you want the sides scrubbed as well as the floor.
- Skip it if
- You want scanning navigation, which the listing does not mention, or your pool is longer than 33 ft.
The Nautilus CC listing says it climbs walls efficiently on any pool shape or surface, scrubs with an active brush and has a top-load filter basket. It gives a 2 hour plug-and-play clean, a 1 year warranty and an item weight of about 14.8 lb. It does not describe scanning navigation, Wi-Fi or waterline cleaning.
What stands out
- Wall climbing stated
- Above-ground and inground
- 1 year warranty stated
Trade-offs
- Navigation not described
- Shorter warranty than the Escape's two years
Best for an inground pool with walls
Dolphin Advantage
An inground-only alternative that lists wall climbing and an active brush. Its listing weight is about 24.4 lb, close to the Escape's shipping weight.
- Premium
- Pool type Inground
- Pool size Up to 33 ft
- Filter Top-load filter basket
- Brush Active scrubbing brush
- Buy it if
- You have an inground pool up to 33 ft and want the walls scrubbed.
- Skip it if
- Your pool is above ground, or you need a stated warranty or navigation detail.
The Advantage listing says it climbs walls, scrubs with an active brush and has a top-load filter basket, with a 2 hour plug-and-play clean. It is listed for inground pool types up to 33 ft. The listing does not state a warranty or describe navigation. Its title and text name three different Advantage variants, so confirm the exact model with Dolphin if the name matters to you.
What stands out
- Wall climbing stated
- Listed for inground pools
- Top-load filter basket
Trade-offs
- Inground only
- Warranty and navigation not stated
- Listing wording mixes variant names
Best for a longer pool
Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus with Caddy
The Dolphin to look at if your pool is longer than 33 ft. The listing says all pools up to 50 ft and includes a caddy and cover.
- Premium
- Pool type All pools, per listing
- Pool size Up to 50 ft
- Filter Top-load filter basket
- Walls Wall climbing
- Buy it if
- Your pool is between 33 and 50 ft, or you want somewhere to store and wheel the robot.
- Skip it if
- Your pool is 33 ft or shorter and you do not need a caddy.
The listing bundles the Universal Caddy and a Classic Caddy Cover with the Nautilus CC Plus. It states wall climbing, a top-load filter basket and a 2 hour plug-and-play clean, and it rates the robot for all pools up to 50 ft. It does not repeat the scrubbing brush or give a warranty. The extra over the Escape is length and storage, not a longer feature list.
What stands out
- Listed for pools up to 50 ft
- Caddy and cover included
- Wall climbing stated
Trade-offs
- Scrubbing brush and warranty not stated
- The extra is storage and length, not features
Best cordless budget alternative for an above-ground pool
Aiper Scuba SE
The alternative if the cable is the problem. It is cordless, light at about 8.8 lb and parks itself, but the listing describes a flat pool floor job and says nothing about walls.
- Budget
- Buy it if
- You have a flat above-ground pool of up to about 860 sq ft and want to drop the cord.
- Skip it if
- You need walls or the waterline cleaned, or a pool where a 90 minute battery will not cover a full pass.
The Scuba SE listing describes a cordless robot with 1,200 gallons per hour suction, a 90 minute battery and a self-parking function that returns it to its starting point. It is listed for flat pools up to 860 sq ft, which the listing equates to 40 ft, and for above-ground pools. It drains up to 90% of its stored water in 15 seconds, which helps when you lift it out. Wall climbing and the waterline are not stated. Our Aiper Scuba guide covers the range in more detail.
What stands out
- Cordless, 90 minute battery per the listing
- Self-parking at the end of the cycle
- Light at about 8.8 lb
Trade-offs
- Wall climbing and waterline not stated
- A battery to keep charged
Can the Escape Clean an Inground Pool?
Per the listing, yes: the title says it is for above-ground and in-ground pools up to 33 ft, and the text adds that it suits any shape of pool made of vinyl, fiberglass or gunite. That is the whole claim, and it is worth reading closely for what it leaves out.
The listing does not mention wall climbing. It does not mention the waterline, steps or sun ledges either. In an inground pool the walls are usually where algae and film build up, so this matters more than it would in a shallow above-ground pool. A robot that only cleans the floor will leave the sides to a brush and a pole.
That is not a flaw in the Escape; it is a gap in what we can confirm from the listing. If you have an inground pool with tall walls, the Nautilus CC and the Advantage state wall climbing outright and are the safer picks on paper. If your pool is mostly floor, such as a shallow plunge or a flat pool, the Escape's navigation and filter are the better draw. For a wider look, see our inground pool cleaner guide and the above-ground pool cleaner guide.
Escape vs Nautilus CC
These two are the pair people most often compare. The Nautilus CC wins on stated wall climbing and on a stated 2 hour cycle. The Escape wins on navigation, filter size and warranty.
Walls and Navigation
The CC listing states wall climbing; the Escape listing does not. The Escape listing describes SmartNav 2.0 scanning; the CC listing does not describe navigation at all. If you care about walls, read the CC first. If you care about route planning, read the Escape first.
Filter and Warranty
The Escape has an oversized top-loading cartridge that the maker says holds up to 60% more debris, where the CC lists a standard top-load basket. The Escape lists a two year quality assurance and the CC lists a 1 year warranty.
Pool Size and Weight
Both are listed for pools up to 33 ft, above ground and inground. The listing weights are about 14 lb for the Escape text and 14.8 lb for the CC, which makes them close.
Dolphin Premier vs Escape
Searchers often pair the two names, and the SERP carries a Dolphin Premier vs Dolphin Escape title. We could not find a live Premier listing when we read the Dolphin range on November 7, so we have no Premier specs to set against the Escape and will not guess. If the Premier is the robot you are comparing, check Dolphin's own page for it, and use the table above for the Escape and its closest neighbours. Our Dolphin pool cleaner reviews cover the wider range.
Escape Filters and Parts
Two genuine Maytronics baskets name the Escape in their compatibility lists. Read the compatibility line before you order, because part numbers are exactly where a wrong guess costs you.
Best finer basket for the Escape
Dolphin Ultra-Fine Filter Basket
The finer of the two baskets. Its compatibility list names the Escape, the Nautilus CC and the Advantage among others.
- Budget
- Buy it if
- You own an Escape and want a finer replacement basket.
- Skip it if
- You own a model that is not on its list.
The listing describes a replacement ultra-fine filter basket assembly with the Maytronics Certified Genuine Parts label. The Escape is named in its compatibility list, which also includes the Advantage, the Nautilus CC and the Proteus DX3.
What stands out
- Names the Escape as compatible
- Genuine Maytronics part
Trade-offs
- Compatibility is only what the listing states
Best coarser basket for the Escape
Dolphin Fine Filter Basket
The standard fine basket. Its compatibility list is short: S50, Active 10, E10, T15 and the Escape.
- Budget
- Buy it if
- You own an Escape and want a plain replacement fine basket.
- Skip it if
- You own a Nautilus CC or Advantage: they are not on this basket's list.
The listing is a replacement fine filter basket that also carries the Maytronics Certified Genuine Parts label. Its compatibility list is shorter than the ultra-fine basket's and does not name the Nautilus CC or the Advantage.
What stands out
- Names the Escape as compatible
- Genuine Maytronics part
Trade-offs
- Short compatibility list
- Does not name the Nautilus models
Dolphin Escape FAQ
Sources
- Dolphin (Maytronics) and Aiper product listings for the Dolphin Escape, Nautilus AG, Nautilus CC, Advantage, Nautilus CC Plus with Caddy, Aiper Scuba SE and the two replacement filter baskets, Amazon US, read in November, 2026 Every specification on this page is the figure stated in the listing. Where a listing is silent we write not stated.
The RobotVacuumer letter
New robot vacuum picks and plain advice on choosing and living with one, about once a month.